top of page

The 54th Annual AWGIE Awards nominations


Writers of The Dry, Nitram, Wakefield, The Great, New Gold Mountain, Cursed! and Here Out West among nominees for the 54th Annual AWGIE Awards.

An outstanding field of Australian screen and stage writers have been nominated for the 54th Annual AWGIE Awards in a year that champions storytellers who have crafted works of strength, creativity and ambition. The nominations exemplify the excellence and range of Australian writers, with stories that speak to the complexity and richness of our past, alongside those that seek to understand our present, telling tales of our everyday heroes, our struggles and our joys.

AWGIE Award recipients will be announced at the 54th Annual AWGIE Awards via an online ceremony broadcast on Tuesday 7 December 2021. The broadcast will be free to watch via YouTube and will feature some of Australia’s finest screen and stage talent.

Awards will be presented across 19 individual categories, including feature film, television, documentary, theatre, audio, animation and children’s television. Individual category winners will be eligible for the Major Award, given to the most outstanding script of the year. Past winners have included Prima Facie (2020), The Harp in the South (2019), Lost & Found (2018), The Drover’s Wife (2017) and The Code (2014 and 2016). Individual theatre category winners are eligible for the David Williamson Prize for Excellence in Writing for Australian Theatre.

On the night, the AWGIE Awards will honour the achievements and contributions of some of our most esteemed screen and stage writers with the presentations of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, the Fred Parsons Award for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy and the Richard Lane Award for Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild.

Since 1968, the Australian Writers’ Guild has presented the AWGIE Awards to recognise and reward the talents, triumphs and unique contributions of Australian screen and stage writers. The AWGIE Awards are the only writers’ awards judged solely by writers, based on the written script – the writer’s intention rather than the finished product.


bottom of page